MATTA Welcomes New Prime Minister and Cabinet

KUALA LUMPUR, 14 May 2018 – The Malaysian Association of Tour and Travel Agents (MATTA) welcomes YAB Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad as Malaysia's seventh Prime Minister and his newly appointed Cabinet.

MATTA President Datuk Tan Kok Liang said “As Malaysia’s leading travel association, we look forward to continue working closely alongside the new government especially in tourism, which is a key sector in our nation’s economy, being the second highest contributor in terms of foreign exchange earnings and third in terms of contribution to the gross national income.”

“This is particularly true for the tourism industry, where more than 3.2 million people are employed, according to the Tourism Satellite Account 2016 released by the Department of Statistics.”

“Over the years, MATTA has taken the lead to safeguard the interest of industry players in a highly challenging and changing business environment, such as disruptive technologies, e-hailing services, giant online travel agents, illegal tour operators and tourism policies that affect licenced operators.”

“MATTA will continue its efforts to develop the tourism industry in general and in specific areas that will spur the growth of business opportunity for members leading to positive increase of tourist arrivals such as modernisation of the Tourism Industry Act, incentives and funding for travel agents, capacity building for the tourism workforce and introduction of luxury tourism vehicles for high spending visitors to increase tourism receipts.”

“We look forward to have regular engagements with the government to discuss industry issues and assisting in new government's tourism policy, and  collaborating with other Ministries such as the Home Ministry which oversees the Immigration Department and the Royal Malaysia Police that play crucial roles in the tourism industry.”

“MATTA welcomes new initiatives by the government aim to improve tourism business conditions and boost tourist arrivals,” concluded Tan.


President MATTA
Term 2017 - 2019