Tourism Australia Travel Update: COVID-19

27 March 2020

Dear Members,

Kindly be informed that MATTA received email on Travel Update on COVID-19 from Tourism Australia. With the COVID-19 situation evolving at a rapid pace globally, Tourism Australia is updating the Australia travel alert page as information becomes available.

As of yesterday, here’s a rundown on the latest information affecting Malaysian travellers:

  •     From 9pm AEDT 20 March 2020, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia. All travellers to Australia are required to self-isolate for 14 days, either at home or in a hotel.
  •     Malaysian citizens who live in Australia as Australian residents are exempt. For full details, visit the Australian Border Force website
  •      There have been several airline suspensions and capacity reductions in response to the expanded government travel restrictions and increased impacts from COVID-19. Please contact your airline to keep up to date with capacity changes.

Domestic travel in Australia continues to be operational however the Australian Government has advised against all non-essential travel. In addition, most of the states and territories have implemented self-isolation requirements which apply to travellers (international and domestic) and in some instances to returning residents. These include:

  •     All travellers and returning residents to the Northern Territory, effective from 4pm (ACST) Tuesday 24 March, will be required to self-isolate for a period 14 days upon arrival. Further details available click here.
  •     Starting today (Wednesday 25 March 2020, from midnight AEST), Queensland will have strict border measures in place. Further details available click here.
  •     All people entering South Australia will be required to isolate for 14-days from their arrival. It will be supported by border control measures from Tuesday 24 March at 4pm (ACDT). Further details available click here.
  •     All ‘non-essential’ travellers to Tasmania (including Tasmanian citizens) will have to self-isolate for 14 days, effective from midnight 20 March 2020, all. Advice for international travellers can be found here and for industry here.
  •     All arrivals to Western Australia (WA) from other states and territories will have to self-isolate for 14 days after arriving in WA, effective from 1.30pm (WST) on Tuesday 24 March 2020. Further details available click here.
  •     Travel restrictions are also in place for Hamilton Island, Lord Howe Island, and Norfolk Island.

Thank you.

Vice President Outbound
2019 - 2021